Board of Trustees

July 1, 2016 - June 30, 2017

The Judea Reform Congregation Board of Trustees is the leadership body of the congregation. This group articulates a vision for the congregation and sets policy accordingly. Trustees often sit as chairs of committees.


President: Steve Simon: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Vice President: Ziva Raney
Vice President: Chip Carnathan
Treasurer: Marc Joseph
Financial Secretary: Heidi Tyson
Recording Secretary: Emily Young
Immediate Past President: Ivy Hoffman


At-Large: Jason Block, Ilene Farkas, Cora Harrison, Caryn Hertz, Sandra Korn, Arnie Lerman, Karen O'Mansky
Building & Grounds: Bruce Elvin
Cemetery: Ed Holland
Development: Tina Prinstein
Durham Regional Temple Youth Co-President: Rachel Krome
Durham Regional Temple Youth Co-President: Michael Joseph
Membership Co-Chair: Peg Carlson
Membership Co-Chair: Debbie Horwitz
Religious Practices: Andrew Geller
Religious School: Carrie Norry
Social Action: Martin Feinstein
Youth: Rachel Mandell

Our Constitution serves as our framework for governance. To read our Constitution, please click here.

Board Profiles

Debbie Horwitz & Peg Carlson, Membership Co-Chairs

Debbie has been an active member of Judea Reform since she moved here in 2003 with her husband, Mitch, and their four children.  in addition to raising their kids and volunteering in various ways in the community, Debbie started the nonprofit hunger relief organization called PORCH in 2010.  Her biggest passions include parenting, yoga, connecting with people, and tikkun olam.

Peg and her husband Andrew Geller joined Judea Reform in 1994, and they have raised their two children here.   As an organizational psychologist, Peg works with a wide variety of groups to help them envision their ideal future and build strong relationships to achieve their goals.  She has enjoyed volunteering with other congregants to plan together for Judea Reform's future; for example, chairing the Strategic Planning Committee in 2010, and designing the Day of Listening in March to collect input for our senior rabbi search.

As Membership co-chairs, Debbie and Peg are dedicated to the Membership Committee's mission: to attract, welcome, and integrate new members and help engage all members through multiple avenues.  We want to connect people to the synagogue and each other.

Got a question about the Membership Committee or a suggestion for Debbie and Peg? Send them an email at or