Sign In Forgot Password

Kabbalat Torah Religious School Program

TENTH GRADE PROGRAM

This year we will combine the Kabbalat Torah/confirmation class with an Interfaith learning opportunity for our students who are rising tenth graders or older. Rabbi Soffer will lead the students in exercises meant to clarify and affirm the students in their commitment to and understanding of Judaism. Garrett Crosbie and Margarita Suarez will lead visits to other faith communities so that the students can engage in rich dialogue with worshippers of other religions and faiths. Not only do we hope to forge friendships with the community outside of JRC, but we also hope to provide our students with the opportunity to think deeply about faith and about what makes their commitment to Judaism both important and unique. This class will run from October to May and will end with a confirmation ceremony led by the students in May. The cost for this program is $150.00.

Program Schedule

Sunday, October 8 11:30-12:30 - Mandatory Orientation 

Sunday, October 22, 11:30-1:00pm - Class #1

Sunday, November 5, 11:30-1:00pm - Class #2

Sunday, November 19, 10:30am - Visit St, Joseph AME Church

Sunday, December 10 - Offsite Visit

Sunday, January 14 - Offsite Visit 

Sunday, January 21, 11:30-1:00pm - Discussion of offsite visits

Sunday, January 28, 11:30-1:00pm - Class #3

Sunday, February 4 - Offsite Visit

Sunday, February 18 11:30-1:00pm - Class #4

Sunday, March 3 - Offsite Visit

Sunday, March 17 11:30-1:00pm - Class #5

Sunday, April 7 - Offsite Visit

Sunday, April 14 11:30-1:00pm - Class #6

Sunday, April 21 11:30-1:00pm - Discussion of Visits

Sunday, May 5 11:30-1:00pm - Class #7

Friday, May 31 6:00pm - Confirmation Dinner

Friday, May 31 7:30pm - Student-led Shabbat Service

A Letter from Rabbi Soffer

Dear 10th grade families,

The phrase Kabbalat Torah means “receiving” or “welcoming” Torah, and we use this phrase to refer to the ritual of Confirmation. This moment in the lives of our students serves the purpose of affirming their connection to Judaism, and we are so excited for your child to be a part of this year’s Kabbalat Torah class. This email is an invitation for your 10th grader (or 11th grader who missed out last year) into this wonderful and enriching experience of Confirmation.

We’ve planned a program filled with exciting learning, meaningful Jewish conversations, and opportunities to connect to each other and the world through the lens of our tradition.  This year, Kabbalat Torah will culminate at a Shabbat service on Friday, May 31, 2024, at 7:30pm in a powerful worship experience with leadership by our class. 

Judaism is a tradition about life, and every one of our gatherings will provide space for our students to explore real-life questions. We will organize our learning according to the talmudic teaching that "the whole world stands on three things: Torah (learning), Avodah (spirituality), and Gimilut Chasadim (justice and compassion).  Our learning together will be interactive and conversational, and by the end of the year we will celebrate each student's Jewish identity. 

Note: For our students in the Madrichim program, this Kabbalat Torah program will not preclude their engagement.

Kabbalat Torah Registration

The attached form requires you to be logged in. Please login using the form below:

Email
Password

 

Thu, February 29 2024 20 Adar I 5784